The Media Co-op

Local Independent News

More independent news:
Do you want free independent news delivered weekly? sign up now
Can you support independent journalists with $5? donate today!
Not reviewed by Media Co-op editors. copyeditedfact checked [?]

Guatemalans attacked by Goldcorp mineworkers

by Rights Action


SAN MIGUEL IXTAHUACAN, GUATEMALA--On February 28, people (mainly Mayan-Mam men and women) from villages harmed and damaged since 2004 by Goldcorp's Marlin mine, gathered for a Permanent Assembly coordinated by ADISMI (the Association for the Integral Development of San Miguel Ixtahucan) and FREDEMI (San Miguel Ixtahuacan Defense Front), to draw critical attention to the fact that the government of Guatemala and Goldcorp had not complied with a May 2010 order from the Inter-American Commission of Human Rights to suspend Goldcorp's mining operation.  10 months have gone by, and neither the Guatemala government, nor Goldcorp have complied.

 

Their protests were violently broken up by Goldcorp mineworkers and other unidentified people.

 

* A local community member and human rights defender, Miguel Bámaca, was seriously beaten.

* Aniseto López (a member of ADISMI and FREDEMI) was illegally detained by Goldcorp mineworkers, threatened and beaten.

* As a busload of protesters traveled along a public road, they were illegally detained and threatened by Goldcorp mineworkers.

* As many as 17 protesters have been injured and one person hospitalized.

* Phones, cameras and videos-cameras were stolen from people in the protests.

 

This is not a local, Guatemalan issue.

 

This is an issue of the governments of Canada and Guatemala, of Goldcorp, of the major investors (like the Canada Pension Plan), etc, who have been informed, over and over, of the environmental and health harms and other human rights violations that have occurred and continue to occur regularly since 2004.

 

The repression of February 28, 2011, is but the latest "incident".

 

Over the past years, documentation of the harms and violations has been met by denials and omissions of the governments of Canada and Guatemala, of Goldcorp, of the major investors (like the Canada Pension Plan), etc.

 

In the next few days, we will prepare a response to the Goldcorp company communiqué and response letters that Goldcorp is sending publicly.

 

Keep sending letters to your media, your politicians and government officials, to Goldcorp, to the Canada Pension Fund and other funds invested in Golddcorp, etc. Politely insist on getting a response to your concerns and demands.

 

****

 

GOLDCORP Inc.

 

Chuck Jeannes, President & CEO

666 Burrard Street, Suite 3400, Vancouver, B.C. V6C 2X8

Main: (604) 696-3000, Direct: 604-696-3076, Chuck.Jeannes@goldcorp.com

 

Kim Keras, executive assistant, Kim.Keras@goldcorp.com

 

Goldcorp Inc

3201-130 Adelaide St. W., Toronto, ON, M5H0in5, T: (416) 865-0326

 

Tim Miller, VP Operations, Central America, Tim.Miller@montana.com.gt

Dina Aloi, VP Corporate Social Responsibility, Dina.Aloi@goldcorp.com, T: (416) 865-0326

David Deisley, legal counsel, david.deisley@goldcorp.com

Jeff Wilhoit, investor relations, Jeff.Wilhoit@goldcorp.com

BOARD OF DIRECTORS, T: (866) 696-3055, local (604) 696-3055, Directors@Goldcorp.com

HUMAN RESOURCES, hr@goldcorp.com

GUATEMALA CITY: Jim Schenck, jamess@montana.com.gt, Lisa Wade, lisa.wade@montana.com.gt

 

CANADIAN GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS

 

CONTACT YOUR MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT:

http://www2.parl.gc.ca/Parlinfo/Compilations/HouseOfCommons/MemberByPostalCode.aspx?Menu=HOC

 

Governor General of Canada, David Johnston

Rideau Hall, 1 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, ON, K1A-0A1

info@gg.ca, (613) 993-8200, 800 465-6890

Duncan Mousseau, Director, Policy, Planning and Correspondence

Office of the Secretary to the Governor General

DMousseau@GG.CA

 

Prime Minister Stephen Harper

harpes@parl.gc.ca

 

Minister of Foreign Affairs Lawrence Cannon

509-S Centre Block, House of Commons, Ottawa, ON, K1A 0A6

cannol@parl.gc.ca

 

Minister of State of Foreign Affairs (Americas) Peter Kent

125 Sussex Dr, Ottawa, ON, K1A 0G2

(613) 992-0253, kent.p@parl.gc.ca

Gilles Duceppe, leader, Bloc Quebecois

1200 Papineau Av, #350, Montreal, QC, H2K 4R5

ducepg@parl.gc.ca

 

Jack Layton, leader, New Democratic Party

221 Broadview Ave, Suite 100, Toronto, ON, MM 2G3

laytoj@parl.gc.ca

 

Elizabeth May, leader, Green Party

Saanich Gulf Islands EDA, PO Box 20076, Sidney, BC, V8L 5C9

emaytowin@greenparty.ca

 

Michael Ignatieff, leader, Liberal Party

656 The Queensway, Etobicoke, ON, M8Y 1K7

ignatm@parl.gc.ca

 

Bob Rae, Liberal, Foreign Affairs Critic

(613) 992-5234, RaeB@parl.gc.ca

 

Francine Lalonde, Bloc Quebecois, Foreign Affairs Critic

(613) 995-6327, LalonF@parl.gc.ca

 

Paul Dewar, NDP, Foreign Affairs Critic

1306 Wellington St. W, Ottawa, Ontario, K1Y 3B2

dewarp@parl.gc.ca, 613-946-8682

 

Larry Bagnell, Liberal

bagnell.l@parl.gc.ca

 

Stockwell Day, Conservative

days@parl.gc.ca, 613-995-1702

 

Peter Julian, NDP International Trade Critic, Rm 178, Confederation Bldg., Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6

julian.p@parl.gc.ca

 

John McKay, Liberal MP, Scarborough-Guildwood

(613) 992-1447, MckayJ@parl.gc.ca, 613-947-4609

Claire Lehan, Legislative Assistant

(613) 992-6512, McKayJ8@parl.gc.ca

549-D Centre Block, House of Commons, Ottawa, ON, K1A 0A6

 

Kevin Sorenson, Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development, Room 518, Justice Building, Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6

(613) 947-4608, SorenK@parl.gc.ca, 613-992-2971

 

Dean Allison, Foreign Affairs Committee Chairperson, 4994 King Street, Beamsville, Ontario, L0R 1B0

allison.d@parl.gc.ca, 905-995-2772

 

Marketa Evans, Global corporate responsibility commissioner

Marketa.Evans@international.gc.ca

 

CANADIAN Embassy in Guatemala

 

Ambassador Leeann McKechnie

Karin Reinecke, Assistant to the Ambassador

karin.reinecke@international.gc.ca

Jennifer Chacon

jennifer.chacon@international.gc.ca

13 Calle 8-44 Zone 10, Edificio Edyma Plaza, Ciudad de Guatemala

(502) 2363-4348, 2365-1201, gtmla@international.gc.ca

 

* * *

 

CANADA PENSION PLAN

One Queen St. East, Suite 2600, Toronto ON, M5C-2W5

CPP Investment Board: csr@cppib.ca, 416-868-4075, 1-866-557-9510.  Lisa Baiton, VP Stakeholder & Government Relations, CPPIB, (416) 868-6612, lbaiton@cppib.ca, www.cppib.ca;

 

ONTARIO TEACHERS PENSION PLAN FUND

5650 Yonge St, Toronto, Canada, communications@otpp.com;  Lynne Olver, Communications, 416-730-6518, lynne_olver@otpp.com

 

* * * * * * *

 

FOR BACKGROUND INFORMATION & ANY QUESTIONS:

Rights Action: Grahame Russell, info@rightsaction.org, www.rightsaction.org

 

ADISMI: Javier de Leon, 5785-8701, nimjavier@gmail.com; Carmen Mejía, carmenmejiaa@gmail.com; 5387-7438;

 

* Please forward this information and re-post

* To get on/off Rights Action's listserv: www.rightsaction.org

Socialize:
Want more grassroots coverage?
Join the Media Co-op today.

About the poster

Trusted by 6 other users.
Has posted 73 times.
View Moira Peters's profile »

Recent Posts:


Moira Peters ()
Cape Breton
Member since March 2008

About:

I am very, very, extremely cool.

940 words
Join the media co-op today
Things the Media Co-op does: Support
Things the Media Co-op does: Report
Things the Media Co-op does: Network
Things the Media Co-op does: Educate
Things the Media Co-op does: Discover
Things the Media Co-op does: Cooperate
Things the Media Co-op does: Build
Things the Media Co-op does: Amplify

User login


Google+
Subscribe to the Dominion $25/year

The Media Co-op's flagship publication features in-depth reporting, original art, and the best grassroots news from across Canada and beyond. Sign up now!